10 minutes with Marnie from OFF THE RECORD

As we move closer to the world premiere season of OFF THE RECORD at Carriageworks we’d like to introduce you to all the members our fabulous cast. Meet Marnie Palomares, contemporary dancer, yogi and Michael Jackson fan…

Who is Marnie Palomares?
A girl who loves moving, performing, music, nature, food, snuggling under the doona with a fan on, Michael Jackson, yoga, more food, fresh air, warm sun on the back of my neck, good company, no company.

How did you get into performing?
I took a ‘year off’ uni with the intention to go back and complete my education degree so I could be a dance and drama high school teacher.  In that time choreographer Jason Pitt asked me to perform in a duet and my career as a freelance contemporary dancer rolled on from there.

Who inspires you and why?
Michael Jackson. His ‘Smooth Criminal’ video clip inspired me to dance. I would imagine I was one of those cool dudes in suits bustin’ moves to a wicked tune.

Roald Dahl. Because his stories ignite my imagination and warm my heart.

What would you do to make a difference in the world?
Be kind, be grateful and un-invent plastic

Favourite holiday destination?
Italy

What do you do to relax?
Yin yoga

What’s your most memorable performance to date?
Nigel Jamison and Garry Stewart’s ‘Honour Bound’, the story of Australian Guantanamo Bay detainee David Hicks. His father Terry came to watch the show during the Sydney season. This was a hugely important, special work. Having Terry in the studio and watching the performance was very moving and memorable.

Share something ‘off-the-record’ about yourself…
I don’t like walking bare-foot on cold tiles – I quickly waddle on the edges of my feet. 
I have recurring dreams about awkward toilet situations.

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS